Monday, 30 November 2015

Definition of disability under the Equality Act 2010

You’re disabled under the Equality Act 2010 if you have a physical or mental impairment that has a ‘substantial’ and ‘long-term’ negative effect on your ability to do normal daily activities.
(taken from the site)

There are various types of disabilities, which can fit under (but aren't limited to) the following categories: Mobility and Physical Impairments, Spinal Cord Disability, Head Injuries, Vision Disability, Hearing Disability, Cognitive or Learning Disabilities, Psychological Disorders, and Invisible Disabilities. 

Following from this there are a number of 'models' of disability that have been defined over the last few years. The two most frequently mentioned, are the 'Medical' and 'Social' Models of disability. 

Please click on the above tabs, to learn more about the Medical and Social Model! There is the interactive slideshow, where you can share ideas and links about what you think of the Medical and Social Model. Following this, is an interactive quiz that you can complete on your smart phones or tablets to complete, and compete against friends to see who really has understood the Social and Medical Model! 
This learning resource is aimed at University level students, however any age groups are welcome to use it!

Read carefully, you wanna be dancing like Jimmy Kimmel and Elmo with joy, not the Idiot Sandwich.

No comments:

Post a Comment